Glasgow 2016

The 2016 Homeless World Cup took place in the heart of Glasgow, from July 10-16. For the duration of the seven day event, Glasgow’s George Square was transformed into “the most inspiring place on the planet.”

Teams came together from across the globe to celebrate and highlight the year round life changing work of the Homeless World Cup National Partner network. Five hundred twelve players arrived in Glasgow each with their own story to tell, their own point on a journey to create a better life for themselves.

George Square was converted into an outdoor street football venue for the event, with three purpose built pitches with seating. Approximately 80,000 enthusiastic spectators braved the sometimes grey Scottish weather to attend the tournament.

Browse Tournament News

The Final Standings

Homeless World Cup Glasgow 2016 logo


A unique feature of the Homeless World Cup tournament is that regardless of ability, all teams compete for the same number of days. The competition breaks into a number of different trophies. Because of these levels of competitions, the games are exciting and meaningful even on the final day of the tournament. On the last day, each team earns their final position – and those standings then influence the rankings that will seed next year’s tournament.

There are a total of eight trophies: six for the men’s competition and two for the women’s. The Homeless World Cup and Women’s Homeless World Cup trophies are the top prizes, respectively.

Women’s Homeless World Cup

This year’s Women’s Homeless World Cup went to Mexico, who have now taken the lead in both the men’s and women’s competition as the only team to have ever won the Homeless World Cup four times. The Mexican women were the highest scoring team in both the men’s and women’s competition, banking a total of 107 goals throughout the week. Conceding only 10 goals, the team had the strongest defense of the competition and reached a goal difference of 97, the highest of the tournament. Mexico took the glory after an emotional final against Kyrgyzstan. The Kyrgyz players were incredibly determined, but in the end Mexico proved stronger, with a final score of  5-0.

1 Mexico
2 Kyrgyzstan
3 Chile
4 Scotland
5 England
6 Netherlands
7 India
8 United States

Mexico celebrate winning the Homeless World Cup beating kyrgystan 5 -0. The Homeless World Cup is a unique, pioneering social movement which uses football to inspire homeless people to change their own lives. Homeless World Cup 2016 is taking place in Glasgow's George Square from July 10th to July 16th. For more information, visit www.homelessworldcup.com

Women’s Plate

The Women’s Plate went to Argentina, one of this year’s most popular teams, who played the final against Greece – another crowd favourite. Argentina were awarded champions after defeating the Greek squad 3-2. Team Argentina scored a total of 37 goals over the week.

9 Argentina
10 Greece
11 Wales
12 Norway
13 France
14 Ivory Coast


Men’s Homeless World Cup

The Homeless World Cup is the top prize in the men’s competition. The iconic trophy travels the world with each winner and is then brought to the next host city before the competition begins. This year, the cup is returning to Mexico after the Mexican men’s team took the glory for the second time in a row. The team were undefeated throughout the competition and scored a total of 90 goals. Mexico also had the strongest defense in the men’s competition, conceding only 10 goals during the week long tournament. The men’s final of the Homeless World Cup saw Mexico defeat Brazil 6-1. Women can also compete in the men’s tournament and second place Brazil was one of several teams to bring a mixed squad to this year’s event.

1 Mexico
2 Brazil
3 Russia
4 Chile
5 Portugal
6 Hungary
7 Indonesia
8 Bosnia and Herzegovina


Homeless World Cup 2016

Men’s Plate

The second tier of the competition saw Ireland take the Men’s Plate. The Irish team were the highest scoring team in the men’s/mixed competition, scoring an outstanding 101 goals! Ireland played the Men’s Plate final against debuting team Egypt, which was one of the most exciting games of the event. The winner had to be decided by sudden-death penalty shootout, after play ended with 4 goals each.

9 Ireland
10 Egypt
11 Costa Rica
12 Namibia
13 Northern Ireland
14 South Africa
15 Lithuania
16 Denmark


Homeless World Cup 2016 Glasgow, George Square, Glasgow, Scotland - 16 July 2016

Men’s Bowl

The third tier trophy in the men’s/mixed competition went to the Bulgarian squad, who took the trophy from Poland after a tense match which resulted in another sudden-death penalty shootout. Bulgaria’s Team of Hope tied with Bosnia and Herzegovina for the 4th highest scoring team with and impressive 86 goals.  The Men’s Bowl competition also included host team Scotland, neighbor England, and this year’s guest team comprised of refugees living in Scotland, Street Soccer United.

17 Bulgaria
18 Poland
19 Romania
20 Street Soccer United
21 Scotland
22 England
23 Italy
24 India


Bulgaria win the Mens Bowl Final The Homeless World Cup is a unique, pioneering social movement which uses football to inspire homeless people to change their own lives. Homeless World Cup 2016 is taking place in Glasgow's George Square from July 10th to July 16th. For more information, visit www.homelessworldcup.com

Men’s Shield

The fourth tier trophy went to the Welsh squad. This year’s Dragons defeated Zimbabwe in the final match 8-5. As it has now become a tradition of the Homeless World Cup, the Welsh teams had one of the loudest and most memorable cheering squad, who did not disappoint this year as the “Waaaaaaleeeees” chant could be heard all over George Square during their matches. The Welsh Dragons scored 56 goals throughout the week. Men’s Shield runners up, Zimbabwe, scored an impressive 72 goals during the week.

25 Wales
26 Zimbabwe
27 Grenada
28 Finland
29 Norway
30 Germany
31 Belgium
32 Hong Kong



Men’s Globe

The Men’s Globe went to team Cambodia, one of this year’s most popular squads.  The final match saw the Asian country defeat Sweden with a score of 8-2. Cambodia, whose Chan Minea received the Best Men’s Player award and helped his team bank 51 goals throughout the week.

33 Cambodia
34 Sweden
35 United States
36 Ivory Coast
37 Netherlands
38 Switzerland
39 Australia
40 Austria



Men’s Quaich

The sixth tier trophy was earned by Czech Republic, who defeated South Korea in an inspirational match that ended in a tense three-round sudden-death penalty shootout. After some incredible saves, it was the Czechs who secured the victory. The Czech team scored a total of 30 goals over the course of the competition.

41 Czech Republic
42 South Korea
43 Greece
44 Slovenia



Browse Tournament Teams

Meet the Players

Watch More

Tournament Photography

Check out our Flickr and Facebook for more photos or to browse galleries of your favorite teams.

Highlights from the 2015 Homeless World Cup

 Visit Our Flickr

To request high resolution images, please visit our Press Centre.

Lead Partners

Event Partners



Event Sponsors



avia signs

crerar hotel


Thank yous

Latest News

Supported by: